Beethoven, the latest quartet. Concert, 4 July – Barthkapel, The Hague

Sunday -
Barthkapel, Brouwersgracht 2K 2512 ER
The Hague

Beethoven's 15th string quartet, opus 132


Assai sostenuto-Allegro
Allegro ma non tanto
Molto adagio-Andante
Alla Marcia, Assai Vivace
Allegro appassionato-Presto

Beethoven was very much focused on having this composition finished by early February 1825. However the serious illness in the spring had interfered and only in May he was settled to write again and as a victory upon the sickness he celebrates it in his Heiliger Dankgesang, which became the third movement of this quartet.

Beethoven completed this quartet in the end of July. 
The public premiere was on 6th November, 1825.
Beethoven 15

A little more about music and style of this composition.

His earlier works for string quartet usually have a classic opening, where the first violin remains the melody supported by the other strings instruments.

In his late, romantic, works for string quartet Beethoven has developed himself in terms of polyphonic writing.
He also gave to the cello a central role .
String quartet No15 (opus132) is his latest quartet.
Music of this string quartet begins with a rising semitone (G # / A), followed by a falling pair (F / E).
The headline of the main theme can even be found in Die Grosse Fuge.
It sounds so amazing, that the same a two-by-two semitone motif Beethoven incorporated in his late three quartets (opus 130,131,132).
The 1-st movement has a chromatic character. The tempos are varied, which was very modern and avant-garde for that time. It took Beethoven years of developing string quartet as a genre to get to this point of new style. Such great tempo contrasts not easily to be found in his early quartets.
The 2-nd movement has a more dancing character: a three-quarter time Allegro ma non tanto. Slightly sprawling music with middle part resembling the "doedelzak" tones. This part is like a pause, a gesture to enjoy the momentum.  
The 3-rd movement has a very sung character in the Lydian key. You can hear again the contrast in rhythm and tempo. Feels like Beethoven takes us to the heaven so divine the music is.
The 4-th movement has a dotted rhythmic march character.
The 5-th part - the final, Allegro appassionato, has again a very sung theme. The character is full of minor fire.
Juliya Belyanevich, Violin; Francisca Simonis, Violin; Ivan Cirkovic, Viol;  Ephraim van IJzerlooij, Cello.

COVID-19 information!!!

Reserving your seat is advised since only 50 seats are allowed.

Wearing a protecting mouth mask inside a building remains under obligation till the seat is taken.

Address: Brouwersgracht 2K2512 ER Den HaagNederland